Fourth Sunday of Epiphany

by owlsofthewild

I am told to breathe
to the rhythm of a hammer and anvil
like a clock clanging not quite
in waking nor wholly in dreams.
 
Kneeling. Prayerful hands pleading
too loudly, the second hand resounding
            in the silence. Kneeling
 
here on a thinly carpeted, unforgiving floor,
past and future, ancient and unborn
impugn upon the present, disrupting
the tempo of the march of saints.
            I almost miss it.
 
I crumple the epiphany and
thrust it into a pocket
            and pretend
 
that truth is in the silence,
rather than creased and wrinkled,
desecrated in the lining of my jeans.
 
But if I continue striving to remain static,
in the end I’ll enter glory an unfinished statue.
Forever giving, never added to;
a textureless face with insufficient features painted
            on like wood-grain linoleum.
 
We sense it in the clanging and cringe.
“Seek quietude,” the billboards bray.
We follow, until on a quiet Sunday afternoon
we empty our pockets in the wash
to find a pallid epiphany washed out
            with the loose change.